Day 4 – Early or nocturnal.

Nowadays, the majority of the millennials, or even the baby boomers and other age groups that are too many to mention, are nocturnal. For instance, everyone in my house is nocturnal including my parents. To avoid confusion, my definition of early is waking up around 5 to 6 a.m and personally, it is a difficult habit to create. There are many reasons (or excuses, one might say) as to why I find waking up early takes so much effort and why I stay nocturnal.

Photo by cmonphotography on Pexels.com

Firstly, the environment. My family excluding the women works daily until 5 to 6 p.m and we do not really have our own free time when we are working. Thus, when we reach back home, we take time to relax, enjoy, and spend time with the family. After spending time with family, we will continue to play our phone, chat with our friends, play games, etc and that continued until midnight, which is usually the period when we sleep. Therefore, I cannot imagine waking up early every day when there is that routine in my life because it is gonna be exhausting if we lack enough sleep.

Being nocturnal also has its pros and cons. One of the pros is, as mentioned above, having the time to spend with loved ones after work. Another is having personal space or me-time in the night when everyone fell asleep. Although, one can argue that if one wakes up early is also a me-time since everyone is still asleep. Despite all the pros, I still think there are more cons in being nocturnal, such as creating an unhealthy sleeping habit, causing lack of sleep, and not being productive.

Also, with how prevalent social media is being consumed these days, it is also one of the reasons people stay up late. Scrolling and mindlessly consuming information before we sleep is the reason why we sleep so late. Hence, the reason why I wrote being nocturnal can be super unproductive.

With that being said, I still think being an early person has more benefits than being nocturnal, just because, waking up early has some sort of spiritual feeling to it. Even the monks have a habit of waking up at 3 to 4 a.m to meditate. Moreover, many known successful businessman in the world wake up early to start their day by jogging, taking a walk, reading, etc. However, it is still a difficult thing for me and the young people to do, since most of us are more active during the night time.

This question is rather difficult to answer, so apologies if there are any weird things being said here. Anyway I am still glad I have continued until Day 4. If you guys are curious about where and what the writing prompts are, click the link here. Thank you for reading and have a nice day.

Leave a comment